HEADTEACHER END OFAUTUMN TERM

Head teacher Blog Last week of the Christmas Term

I led two assemblies this week one for Year 5 and 6 and one for year 7 and 8.  I chose to do the ‘great egg trick’. This is where with out the use of hands an egg is flipped in a glass. This is achieved by imparting an explosive blow (exhale of breath) which raises the egg out of the glass, flips it and lands back in the glass the other way up.

On both days I had the assembly, I practiced in my office with a very high success rate. In both assemblies I failed!  It changed the message in the assembly for me from ‘things are possible even if it is difficult to see how sometimes’ to ‘to succeed you must be free from the fear of failure’ We must all strive to have a go at difficult more challenging things. If we are in a supportive learning community we can try our best, fail and try again. Eventually this will lead to progress.

People have different opinions on tests whether they be end of year SATS or end of Year 8 assessments ready for Thomas Hardye. In my opinion if the test is leading us to teach the right skills (broadly I think they are) I see no problem in striving to do the best we possibly can as a school and as individuals. If we fail to achieve the goal we set our self no problem at least we tried and our supportive learning community will know we gave it our all. We will reach our goal next time or may be the time after that.

I wish you all a peaceful Christmas.